Adult Children of Alcoholics

A topic for people who, in childhood or adolescence, experienced persistent effects of alcoholism of parents or other family members.

5 Likes

Tools:
Calmness,
Courage,
Wisdom.

2 Likes

Hello, my name is Roman and my father was an alcoholic.

3 Likes

@Roman_t this is a serious theme, you are really courageous. What happened in past can destroy our future, but we can’t let define what we would want to become. The guilt in your heart is not for you but the parents cause. Depression, frustration and rancor. We deserve to escape and find ways to destroy the pain or us in the process. We change physical instead of emotional to create a thing we believe is tangible, but it is out of control. I am a doctor but I think I can help you, try to write me about what happened. We find the source of the agony and erease it, whether it was possible.

1 Like

My story.

My mother met a guy and got pregnant.
The guy set a condition for her: if a boy is born, he will marry her and they will live together, if a girl is born, then they will separate.
A girl (my sister) was born and he left them.
About a year later, my mother met my father and they got married. My mother got pregnant and gave birth to me.
After I was 4 or 5 years old, my father started drinking. When he got drunk, he became very aggressive. They started fighting with my mother more and more often. When my father was drunk, he and my mother hated each other, and there was a real war between them. They fought among themselves - with sticks, iron rods, axes. (it almost came to knives). (It’s very scary).

2 Likes